The Loved Ones
Share |
Album Releases

Build & Burn
'All Aboard: A Tribute To Johnny Cash' In Stores Today
October 21, 2008
All aboard the Johnny Cash Express! Boasting a lineup of punk and alternative rock's most indie minded artists, proudly wearing their hearts on their sleeves while effortlessly blending Punk Rock with Americana, this new homage to the spirit of Johnny Cash is good for the soul and for our communities. Anchorless Records will be donating all the profits of 'All Aboard: A Tribute To Johnny Cash' to the Syrentha Savio Endowment (SSE), a non-profit organization that provides financial assistance to underprivileged women who cannot afford the expense of fighting breast cancer.

'All Aboard' features debut solo performances from Russ Rankin (former front man of seminal punk band Good Riddance), Joe McMahon of Smoke or Fire, and Ben Nichols of Lucero. The tribute also boasts The Bouncing Souls and MxPx, both of whom are Warped Tour mainstays and fixtures in the Punk community.

The range of songs chosen include Johnny Cash's first single (The Flatliner's covering "Cry, Cry, Cry") and travels through a long and unparalleled career to the last single released by the Man in Black, "God's Gonna Cut You Down" performed by The Gaslight Anthem. It is our hope that through this record we are able to introduce a new generation of music fans to the songs and importance of Johnny Cash via their favorite artists. The liner notes include quotes from each artist, expressing their feelings on the impact Johnny Cash has had on them both musically and personally.

The vinyl version of 'All Aboard' features an alternate version of "Delia's Gone" by Ben Nichols of Lucero.

Anchorless Records has partnered with to bring music fans an exclusive full album stream of the release. Listen to the entire record now at:

'All Aboard: A Tribute To Johnny Cash' Track Listing:
1. Man In Black - The Bouncing Souls
2. Country Boy - Fallen From The Sky
3. Wreck Of The Old ’97 - Chuck Ragan (Hot Water Music)
4. Let The Train Whistle Blow - Joe McMahon (Smoke or Fire)
5. Delia’s Gone - Ben Nichols (Lucero)
6. God’s Gonna Cut You Down - The Gaslight Anthem
7. Cocaine Blues - The Loved Ones
8. Give My Love To Rose - OnGuard (feat. Jason Shevchuk of Kid Dynamite and None More Black)
9. I Still Miss Someone - Casey James Prestwood (Hot Rod Circuit)
10. Hey Porter - MxPx
11. Cry,Cry,Cry - The Flatliners
12. Ballad of a Teenage Queen - The Dresden Dolls feat. Franz Nicolay of The Hold Steady
13. Folsom Prison Blues - Chon Travis (Love = Death)
14. There You Go - The Sainte Catherines
15. I Walk The Line - Russ Rankin (Good Riddance, Only Crime)
16. Delia’s Gone (Alternate Version) - Ben Nichols (Lucero) *Bonus Track/Vinyl Only*
Share |
(1 news stories listed.)
HOME TOWN: Philadelphia, PA
Dave Hause - Vocals
Dave Walsh - Guitar
Chris Gonzalez - Bass
Mike Sneeringer - Drum Kit

For as much as punk rock is about breaking down the barriers we build around ourselves, it’s a challenge to be a “people’s punk band” when the scene that spawned you wants you to stay inside its walls forever. But with their new, second album, Build & Burn, that’s just the challenge Philadelphia’s THE LOVED ONES are ready to take on. Broader-focused, more rock & roll-inspired, and (dare we say it) catchier than ever before, the disc finds the quartet crafting a sound that’s as worthy of dive bars stages as it is of warming stadiums for Bruce Springsteen or Tom Petty. Forget the “pop-punk” tag that’s followed these guys just because they’re old hardcore kids (alumni of the Explosion, Trial by Fire, the Curse and Paint it Black, if you’re keeping score) with a gift for melody. If you have to pigeonhole it, Build & Burn is POPULIST punk—and it’s also the best damned thing the Loved Ones have done.

Lyrically speaking, Build & Burn — which follows the band’s acclaimed 2006 debut album for Fat, Keep Your Heart, and a self-titled 2005 EP on Jade Tree—is also the Loved Ones’ widest-ranging record yet. It may not be a double-length concept disc in the vein of, say, American Idiot, but read between the lines and you’ll find the songs all revolve around a basic human concept. “I tried to write around the theme of examining how the choices we make affect our lives,” singer/guitarist Dave Hause explains. “Whether you’re a ‘he’ or a ‘she’ or old or young, ultimately, the thing that sets you apart from other species is your ability to make choices. Those choices can lead to your undoing as much as they can make your life come together in the way you want it to, and that’s something I’ve been going through daily for a while: You can build things up, but there’s always that urge to go the other way and burn them down.”

Oddly enough, the Loved Ones might not have survived to make Build & Burn without a few torched unions to bind them. With inner-band relationships already strained after a 2006 European tour supporting Keep Your Heart, Hause and drummer Mike Sneeringer had the wind knocked out of them when co-founder and bassist Michael Cotterman announced that he was leaving. But shortly after touring guitarist Dave Walsh and fill-in bassist Chris Gonzalez pulled the plug on their own well-regarded band the Explosion in April of 2007, the Loved Ones’ future state became clear. “It just grew organically from there,” Hause says. “With Dave and Chris in the band full-time now, it’s just like a gang. Dave and I have been friends forever, and the new lineup’s even brought Mike and me closer.” And Gonzalez, who actually played guitar in the Explosion before transitioning to his current instrument, “is just like a secret weapon,” Hause says. “He’s a great instrumentalist, but he sings, too – all those harmonies you hear on this record are something we were never able to have before.”

If the Loved Ones’ new lineup is a tight-knit crew, the Build & Burn sessions reflect just how far outside of the quartet that feeling extends. Produced by longtime friends and tourmates Pete Steinkopf and Bryan Kienlen of the Bouncing Souls; recorded at the Wild Arctic in Queens and Kate’s Place (a.k.a. the Souls’ manager’s basement) in Asbury Park, New Jersey; and engineered by Bob Strakele (the Hold Steady), Build & Burn carries the spirit of nearly everyone who touched it. Steinkopf and Kienlen’s gang vocals adorn tracks like the anthemic album centerpiece “The Bridge,” and the pair’s dare to have the Loved Ones cut their first-ever love song (a feat the band pulled off in a record 90 minutes’ studio time) resulted in the heartwarming, country-rock-tinged “I Swear.” Another good friend of the band, the Hold Steady’s Franz Nicolay, contributes keys throughout (check out his work on the balladic “Selfish Masquerade”), and his bandmate Tad Kubler lays down a solo on the rollicking, Johnny Cash-meets-Ramones “Louisiana.” Even Hause’s and Walsh’s wives appear on the album, contributing vocals to “Third Shift” and “Brittle Heart,” respectively.

Lest fans of the Loved Ones’ hardcore salad days run from terms like “country rock” and “balladic,” the album-opening one-two punch of “Pretty Good Year” and “The Inquirer” should prove that while the band have grown up, they haven’t grown out of their own skin. And for any punk purist who thinks there’s no way a band can count Bruce Springsteen and Hot Water Music as equal inspirations, well, odds are you’ve never sat down to compare the two. “Punk is a big part of how we all came to play music, and that spirit is still all over this album,” Hause says, “but punk isn’t the only style of music we’re interested in playing. I’d rather write in a way that’s completely honest, regardless of genre labels, and reach people through that honesty, rather than play a role and try to sell records intentionally.” He laughs. “Records don’t sell anymore, anyway—better to just prepare for the road and hope people meet you there.”