Primer 55
Share |
Album Releases

(the) New Release

Introduction To The Mayhem
HOME TOWN: Atlanta, GA
Donny "The DRP" Polinske - Vocals
Bobby Burns - Guitar
Curt Taylor - Guitar
Mikey Terito - Drums
Steve Snyder - Bass

The band was formed in 1997 by guitarist Bobby Burns, who was influenced by heavy metal music and vocalist J-Sin, who was influenced by hip hop.[2]Burns and J-Sin enlisted the help of bassist Mike "Jr." Christopher anddrummer Josh McLane. After the release of their self-titled debut albumon the independent label Propellant Transmissions, Primer 55 signed acontract with Island Records, releasing their second studio album, Introduction to Mayhem on January 25, 2000. The album featured appearances from Incubus turntablist Chris Kilmore and Hed PE frontman Jared Gomes.[2] In September 2000, Primer 55 toured alongside Soulfly, downset., and Slaves on Dope.[3]

In 2001, McLane left the band for personal reasons and was replaced by John Kamoosi.[2] On August 14, 2001, Primer 55 released their third studio album, The New Release. It peaked at #1 on the Billboard Heatseekers chart and #102 on the Billboard 200. The album's single, "This Life" peaked at #37 on the Mainstream Rock Tracks chart.[4] In 2002, the band performed as the opening act at the 2002 Gathering of the Juggalos in Peoria, Illinois.[5] In 2007, the band signed with Crash Music Inc. and using Disc2day CD replication, released their fourth studio album, Family for Life on November 6, 2007.[6]After the release of the album, former frontman and founding memberJason "J-Sin" Luttrell left the band, due to personality clashes withco-founder Burns..clashes that caused other former members to leaverather than deal with it, leaving the band reduced to nothing more thana cover band in its present state. Bobby Burns is the only remainingmember of the original Primer 55. The band then recruited former SOREfrontman Donny "The DRP" Polinske as the new frontman. The band performed at the 2008 Gathering of the Juggalos.[5] The band is currently working on a new album, The New American Gangsters.[8] In April 27, the band posted a new song called Flexin, in their MySpace. A music video for the song is also being made.[9]