Old Man Gloom
Share |
Album Releases

The Old Christmas Gloom
July 9, 2004
Old Man Gloom, the group which features members of Cave In, Converge, and Isis, have set August 24th as the release date for their album Christmas through Tortuga Recordings. The track listing for the album is said to be as follows:

1. Gift
2. Skullstorm
3. Something For The Mrs.
4. Sleeping With Snakes
5. Lukeness Monster
6. 'Tis Better To Receive
7. Accord-o-Matic
8. The Volcano
9. Close Your Eyes, Roll Back Into Your Head
10. Girth And Greed
11. Sonic Dust
12. Valhalla
13. Christmas Eve Parts I, II, And II
Share |
(1 news stories listed.)
Aaron Turner (vocals/guitar)
Nate Newton (guitar)
Caleb Scofield (bass)
Santos Montano (drums)
Luke Scarola (programming)

Featuring members of Isis, Cave In and Converge, OLD MAN GLOOM has taken sludge rock and metal to its furthest reaches yet, mixing Neurosis-style apocalyptic blasts, the kind of psychedelic, harrowing ambience that would give Earth nightmares and an obsession with all things simian. Isis's Aaron Turner is also the thread that drives Old Man Gloom. What began as an act of immediacy has turned into a full-fledged band, with the addition of members of Converge and Cave In. Structurally: short, damaging sonic barbs, stylistically similar to Isis's dirge, yet unafraid to explore their more stoner rock leanings, intercut with ambient compositions, noise tracks and bizarre sonic manipulations, to form a fractured yet engrossing whole. A suffocating melange of various sound textures fused and soldered together by five ambitious musicians. Indeed, Old Man Gloom's music is a successful jaunt into the deepest recesses of discord, where fortuity and pure energy collide in a spectacular landscape of sound and sight.