Jason Becker
Share |
Jason Becker Releases 'Collection'
November 5, 2008
Legendary guitar virtuoso, Jason Becker, releases the Jason Becker 'Collection' on Shrapnel Records. This pure work of genius contains three new recordings totaling over 20 minutes in length and includes new performances by some of Becker's guitar buddies: Steve Vai, Joe Satriani, Michael Lee Firkins, Marty Friedman, Steve Hunter and Greg Howe. In addition the CD is enhanced and contains some bonus material playable on computer.

Jason Becker began his career as a Shrapnel recording artist by joining forces with guitar virtuoso Marty Friedman to form seminal progressive metal pioneers, “Cacophony.” Amassing worldwide acclaim as a guitar virtuoso, Becker came to the attention of David Lee Roth who was looking for a guitarist to replace Steve Vai and the rest is history.

Through his work with Cacophony, his groundbreaking solo record 'Perpetual Burn', recorded when Jason was just 17, and through his second solo record 'Perspective', recorded after Becker came down with Lou Gherig's disease, Jason earned an international reputation for being one of the best composer/guitarists to emerge from the legendary Shrapnel shredding scene.

Even as paralysis set in from his disease, Becker still had a strong desire to compose and 'Collection' not only contains some of Becker's favorite moments from his Shrapnel and David Lee Roth recordings, it also features three new Becker compositions, each as impressive as anything he has recorded in the past. Becker has enlisted some of the largest names in instrumental guitar music to perform the parts that he hears in his head and has as many as three guitarists per track trading off riveting performances.

'Collection' is exactly the kind of record that Becker fans have been waiting for.

'Collection' Track List:
1. Rain
2. River of Longing
3. Images
4. Opus Pocus
5. Higher
6. It's Showtime
7. Altitudes
8. End of the Beginning
9. River of Longing (Reprise)
10. Meet Me In the Morning
11. Air
12. Electric Prayer for Peace
13. Mandy's Throbbing Little Heart

Bonus Material:
1. Go Off (intro)
2. End Of The Beginning
3. Noodling For Rob And Tony

For more information click on www.jasonbecker.com or www.shrapnelrecords.com.
Share |
(1 news stories listed.)
HOME TOWN: Richmond, California
Jason Becker

Jason Becker is an American hard rock guitarist who formed the band Cacophony in the late '80s with fellow guitarist Marty Friedman and recorded two albums with it, Speed Metal Symphony (1987) and Go Off! (1988). He made the instrumental solo album Perpetual Burn in 1988. In 1989, he left Cacophony and was hired by David Lee Roth to replace Steve Vai in his backup band, appearing on the album A Little Ain't Enough (1991). Shortly after he joined Roth's band, however, he was diagnosed with Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis (ALS), better known as Lou Gehrig's Disease, a rare degenerative illness that causes paralysis. Nevertheless, he succeeded in completing a second solo album, Perspective, released on his own label in 1996. Raspberry Jams, an album of demos, followed in 1999, and in 2001, through the intercession of Eddie Van Halen, Perspective was given major-label release on Warner Bros. Records. ~ William Ruhlmann, All Music Guide