Share |
Album Releases

Deadsy Parts Ways With Bass Player, Announce Replacement
January 14, 2007
Deadsy, the Los Angeles-based band featuring frontman P. Exeter Blue I (a.k.a. Elijah Blue, son of actress/singer Cher and Gregg Allman), has parted ways with bassist Ashburn Miller (a.k.a. Creature). "We have left it on good terms and wish each other the best," Elijah said in a statement. "I want to reassure any Deadsy fan who has any doubts this decision in no way compromises our dedication to musical and theatrical excellence. This was the right decision for Ashburn where his interests and endeavors are concerned, and likewise for Deadsy. Jens Funke will be replacing Ashburn, and many of you already know him from our recent sold-out tour with the Deftones.

"We will be shooting the video for "Carrying Over" at the end of the month and we look forward to seeing all you Deadsy fans very soon."
Share |
Family Values Tour 2006 CD/DVD Tentative Tracklist Revealed
November 2, 2006
A preliminary track listing has been revealed for The Family Values Tour 2006 CD and DVD which will be released December 26 on Firm Music. The CD and DVD (sold separately) will feature live tracks from Korn, Deftones, Stone Sour, Dir en grey, 10 Years, Deadsy and more. The DVD takes viewers on-stage, backstage, behind-the-scenes and in the dressing room with exclusive concert footage, interviews and out-takes all in digital 5.1 Surround Sound. Other highlights include one-of-a-kind duets, acoustic tracks and cover songs. These upcoming releases mark the fourth in the series ('The Family Values Tour '98', 'The Family Values Tour '99' and 'The Family Values Tour '01').

The tentative track listing for the CD and DVD is as follows:

1. Korn – "Right Now"
2. Korn – "Coming Undone"
3. 10 Years – "Wasteland"
4. Stone Sour - "Through Glass"
5. Deftones – "My Own Summer"
6. Dir en grey – "Merciless Cult"
7. Stone Sour – "Reborn"
8. 10 Years – "Waking Up"
9. Dir en grey – "Ryoujoku No Ame"
10. Korn – "Shoots and Ladders/Wicked" (featuring Chino Moreno)
11. Deftones – "Nosebleed"
12. Korn – "Freak on a Leash" (featuring Corey Taylor)
13. Korn – "Blind"
14. Deadsy – "Carrying Over"

1. Deadsy – "Carrying Over"
2. 10 Years – "Waking Up"
3. 10 Years – "The Autumn Effect"
4. Dir en grey – "Kodoku Ni Shisu, Yuni Kodoku"
5. Dir en grey – "The IID Empire"
6. Stone Sour – "Reborn"
7. Stone Sour – "Through Glass"
8. Deftones – "My On Summer"
9. Deftones – "Nosebleed"
10. Korn – "Right Now"
11. Korn – "Coming Undone"
12. Korn – "Freak On A Leash"
13. Korn – "Hollow Life"
14. Korn – "Blind"
Share |
(2 news stories listed.)
HOME TOWN: Los Anfeles
P. Exeter Blue I - Guitar & Vocals
Carlton Megalodon - Z-tar & Guitar
Dr. Nner - Synthesizers
Creature - Bass
Alec Pόre - Drums

Deadsy began in 1995. Elijah recorded several demos (including Dear and a cover of Pavement's Texas Never Whispers) with Alec Puro (who would later go by the name 'Alec Pure' in the band) in the garage of the band's would-be manager, Josh Richman. Elijah then sent Renn Hawkey a demo tape and a Juno 106 synth and Renn joined (under the stagename of Dr. Nner) shortly after.

In 1997, the band was set to release their debut album Commencement under the Elektra/Sire label. The track listing at the time was quite a bit different from the final release, a whopping five years later. Just as everything seemed in place for the debut, Sire split from Elektra, and the release was shelved (promotional copies are still floating around, but are somewhat rare).

"Basically, we got the record deal when we shouldn't have -- we were all 19," Blue explained. "I got it out of desperation. I got kicked out of the house, and I was like 'Fuck it, I'll go get a record deal.' So it kind of happened out of necessity, in a sense, and a lot of the delays were just because I didn't know how to handle my business that well. Also, Sire was going through some problems in leaving Elektra. Every bad thing that could happen did happen." - P. Exeter Blue

Eventually in 2002 after a series of false starts, Deadsy were signed by Elementree Records (the band Korn's label) and allowed to release their debut album. Korn singer Jon Davis had collaborated with the band before, most notably on the song 'Sleepy Hollow' and the new addition to the CD, 'Key to Gramercy Park'.

Elijah describes the band's low and dissonant style as Undercore. Elijah's low baritone singing style, down-tuned guitars, Dr. Nner's synths and Carlton's Z-tar give the music an almost surreal quality. Deadsy's sound is often compared to Gary Numan.

"We wanted to make something that was transcendental, really rule-defying, and very against the grain. And when people listened to it at first, it would just feel very like a sense of foreignness, almost like watching a David Lynch film." - Elijah Blue
The lyrics and imagery of the songs sometimes focus on many subjects in either religious, magical or popular culture contexts. Occasionally one notices obscure references to Secret Societies, The Urantia Book, Star Wars, and the novel Dune, by Frank Herbert. In fact, many of their songs seem very esoteric, given that only a few would understand just what the lyrics are describing or making reference toward.

Elijah has often called the band an "art project", or "art movement". Complete with a manifesto (available on their site), and visual iconography. Each band member represents one element or "Entity" that drives human society. Each entity is also represented by their own color and unique appearance.

Blue - Academia (P. Exeter Blue)
Yellow - Science / Medicine (Dr. Nner)
Green - Leisure (Alec Pure)
Grey - War (Carlton Megalodon)
Red - Horror (Creature)

Unlike the usual darker "gothic" aesthetics of other groups, Deadsy's style was a bit more colorful. This really set the group apart from other bands in the genre as well. This and their music made them a very interesting act to see live on-stage.

In April 2004, at the Troubadour in Hollywood CA., Deadsy unveiled their new look for the upcoming Phantasmagore album. The new logo was revealed - a television test pattern containing the Entity colors. No longer present were the usual zombie/schoolboy uniforms that the fans had become familiar with. The band emerged on stage in black tattered robes and opened with a new song, Sands of Time (later renamed Time on the Phantasmagore album).

In June 2004, at a show following the previous one, Josh, Deadsy's manager announced enthusiastically, "Deadsy legions! Are you ready for the next level of UNDERCORE?!" This was seemingly a sign of things to come, as changes would soon be made to other avenues of information related to Deadsy.

The band's familiar website also went through a transformation in order to reflect the changes the band itself had undergone and the in-site message board was brought back after a long hiatus.

In July 2006, the band finished work on their new album "Phantasmagore". A video shoot for "Book of Black Dreams" was planned for June, but had to be rescheduled.

Deadsy will appear on the 2nd Stage line-up for Family Values Tour 2006.